The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." -Frank Zappa

Jump to page : 12
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
GC & Custom Elite Contour

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2004-2005Message format

Slipkid
Posted 2005-11-16 11:36 AM (#129574 - in reply to #129549)
Subject: Re: GC & Custom Elite Contour

Well, we have kind of drifted away from GC and his Elite but this talk about performance anxiety and mistakes is interesting.
When BrianT and I started playing Folkin' Fridays we would cram to have 3 new songs ready to go each month. For the most part we reached our goal....barely. Each time it was a nerve racker because it would be the first time we played them outside of a practice situation. The 10 months we did that really helped to develope a set-list but we have sinced change our strategy. We have decided that if we cannot play the song, be comfortable and have fun with it, it stays in the practice sessions.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Buckaroo
Posted 2005-11-16 11:42 AM (#129575 - in reply to #129549)

Once the song starts, you don't stop, ever. If there is a mistake, work through it. That's show business. Most often, only the musicians know there is something wrong. By the the time the song ends the errors have been forgotten.
cliff
Posted 2005-11-16 11:47 AM (#129576 - in reply to #129549)

". . Jesus, Joy of Man's Desiring (Bach tune) . ."

Moody;
Get yerself a copy of the first Windham Hill "A Winter's Solstice" CD (circa. 1986 or so).