The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." -Frank Zappa



Jump to page : 12
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> General PostingMessage format
 
alpep
Posted 2018-02-02 3:41 PM (#541051 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: Re: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.


Joined:
December 2001
Posts: 10240

Location: NJ
I know my limitations.....
Top of the page Bottom of the page
photodork
Posted 2018-02-02 11:30 PM (#541058 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: Re: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
March 2014
Posts: 50

Location: Halifax, nova scotia
That looks fantastic! Well done.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Patch
Posted 2018-02-03 6:21 AM (#541059 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: RE: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
May 2006
Posts: 4102

Location: Steeler Nation, Hudson Valley Contingent

Thanks for all the replies guys! I have to admit, as much as I like the result, there's a tiny part of me that looks down and is still surprised that the FET-3 is gone.

Musicians are weird...

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Patch
Posted 2018-05-23 2:03 PM (#543739 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: RE: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
May 2006
Posts: 4102

Location: Steeler Nation, Hudson Valley Contingent

Ok, I'm resurrecting this thread to pass on something that happened to me two weeks ago with this very guitar. I took it to church with me to lead music, along with a 6-string. I'm mostly set up and pick it up to tune it.

So far, the story is pretty innocuous right?

Then my middle-aged brain played one of it's increasingly frequent and mildly embarrassing tricks on me. I look in the case pocket, and the Snark tuner isn't there!

"What did you do with it?", a wistful voice whispers in my head. (The same voice that I'm beginning to suspect has a distinctly impish sense of humor.....)

I was just about to borrow a tuner from a buddy, when the board guy asks me to check my volume level before turning the system on.

I look down expecting to see the familiar FET-3 knob and of course notice the new Op-Pro....."WITH ITS BUILT-IN TUNER, STUPID!" (Says the same wistful, impish, and now supremely smug voice.)

I hate it when the voice in my head actually has a point.....

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Love O Fair
Posted 2018-05-23 11:31 PM (#543746 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: Re: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
February 2016
Posts: 894

Location: Spin axis of a California map
@Patch - >>>WITH ITS BUILT-IN TUNER, STUPID<<<

Good one, Patch. That's almost as bad as pouring water into a bowl stand on a fake Christmas tree.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
bburg
Posted 2018-05-24 12:40 PM (#543752 - in reply to #540948)
Subject: Re: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
August 2009
Posts: 970

Location: Germany, where delicious wine is growing (Rheinh)
titti - 2018-01-26 10:46 PM

I am from Italy. I will not ship my Ovation anywhere. The OP 24 on '87'C works well. if it should have problems it would be easy to fix it. But I'd like to change it with a more modern preamp. The main problem (in addition to prices that have gone crazy lately) . The main problem is the shape, from rectangular to ... bean . Solution : John Budny ... come to Italy ... Venice ... Mirano ... I offer you a fish dinner (if you like it)

Hi Titti,

you only have to come to Germany (to me). I've done this on all my old Ovations. But you have to go for the parts, which have to get them is very hard now.

Bernie
Top of the page Bottom of the page
TrickieTrev
Posted 2018-06-17 10:53 PM (#544146 - in reply to #540923)
Subject: RE: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.


Joined:
June 2018
Posts: 9

Great work
Was the wiring similar for the same pickup for both the Fet3 and OptPro??
Thanks Trev
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Patch
Posted 2018-06-25 8:27 AM (#544214 - in reply to #544146)
Subject: RE: Replacing a FET-3 pre-amp with an Op-Pro....the HARD way.



Joined:
May 2006
Posts: 4102

Location: Steeler Nation, Hudson Valley Contingent

TrickieTrev - 2018-06-17 11:53 PM Great work Was the wiring similar for the same pickup for both the Fet3 and OptPro?? Thanks Trev

Not exactly, the FET-3 has an external battery box hard-wired into the preamp. The Op-pro has an internal battery. That's why the screw hole for the battery box had to be filled as well. Otherwise, the Op-Pro and the Fet-3 use the same saddle input.

Top of the page Bottom of the page
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread

This message board and website is not sponsored or affiliated with Ovation® Guitars in any way.
Registered to: The Ovation Fanclubâ„¢ Copyright (c) 2001
free counters
(Delete all cookies set by this site)