The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." -Frank Zappa

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Stuck in a rut!

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2007Message format

BT717
Posted 2007-11-04 2:12 PM (#75805)
Subject: Stuck in a rut!

Ok, As mentioned in other posts I have been playing for 6 yrs. In the beginning it was easy to pick-up the guitar and practice. As time has gone on I find that all I want to do is learn and play songs. Anyone have any suggestions on making "practicing fun again? I know plenty of open and Barre chords. I
am learning how to play lead and fill when playing with my buddies. What I would really love to do is be able to Improvise. Any suggestions?? (Legit please,I'm already getting to understand some of you!! lol!)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
HobbyPicker
Posted 2007-11-04 2:28 PM (#75806 - in reply to #75805)
Subject: Re: Stuck in a rut!

Learning to navigate on the fretboard, playing licks and progressions in different positions and in all keys is a good tip. I've found these dvds to be a great resource for me, partly because I have been on a workshop with Ernie, and that I like and want to play the same kind of music as he does, but the system itself applies to all styles.
Old Man Arthur
Posted 2007-11-04 2:35 PM (#75807 - in reply to #75805)

"As time has gone on I find that all I want to do is learn and play songs."

That doesn't sound like a rut... A rut is when you DON'T wanna learn and play songs.
As far as the Lead Improvisation goes, I would just find some kind of backing-track that you like, and jam with it.