The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Got time to breathe, got time for music." --Briscoe Darling.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
1974 Legend For Sale

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> For SaleMessage format

mdunn
Posted 2004-04-06 10:26 PM (#341398)
Subject: 1974 Legend For Sale

It is a 1974 Legend, The model number is 1117-4. Translated; it is a deep bowl body with a (probably spruce top) and the -4 means that it is a natural finish.

It is a US made Ovation. I am not an expert on Ovation but I belive in 1974 the Legend model was the top of the line or one down. It has a beautiful laminated neck. There is are two stripes of light maple and something else running the length (on the back side) of the neck. It is a high gloss finish on the neck. It has a beautiful raised rosette around the sound hole.

I purchased the guitar used from the Guitar Center in Highland Park, IL on Sept 11, 2002. I got it because I wanted to get something inexpensive to play to see if I was interested in returning to guitar playing. I had quit playing about 1972. I also purchased a new Ovation molded case for the guitar at the same time.

Within a few months (about Dec 2002) I sent the guitar back to Ovation to be rebuilt. The neck was way out of alignment and there were stress cracks in the high gloss finish of the top of the guitar. I spent about $125.00 with Ovation and they cured the neck problem, set the action, and filled in the cracks in the finish and then buffed the surface so you cannot feel them. You can still see the cracks, but they are in the finish only. They are in three areas on the top.