The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Got time to breathe, got time for music." --Briscoe Darling.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Double neck Celebrity

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2006Message format

StuM
Posted 2006-01-20 3:47 PM (#268435)
Subject: Double neck Celebrity

Hey Guys! I'm new to this group. 33 yrs old & live in the UK. Have had a 1111-1 Balladeer ever since I graduated 12 years ago and still love Ovations to this day.

This started for me in the early 90's when the Jovi were well in their prime and I happened to see a replay of an MTV awards performance (don't know the year) by Jon & Richie playing Wanted Dead or Alive as well as living on a prayer acoustically all alone on a big big stage and musically blowing all the other acts away. Magic!. Luckily I had the VHS video on "rec" at the time and I've pretty much worn the tape down to nothing since (and I don't lie, it brings tears to my eyes to watch it even now!).

Anyway, Richie was on a doubleneck, and I've always wanted one since. Ruled out an original US made custom despite the reports of them on Ebay as I'm afraid of fraud and have a family to feed, but.... and please forgive me if this has been asked before... all the Celebrities I've seen are 6 string below and 12 string on top. This is different from most of the custom made guitars. Is there a technical reason for this?. It's not just that I'm wanting to emulate Richie (Jimmy Page is just as much of a dude and he's used a custom ovation on the Unledded album with 12 on top and 6 below), but doesn't it make more sense that the 6 is on top to allow the more delicate fingerwork to be more in sight???? Maybe a discussion point there....