The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Believe me when I say that some of the most amazing music in history was made on equipment that's not as good as what you own right now." - Jol Dantzig

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
New to playing a guitar!

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> Welcome CenterMessage format

Christopher Geeslin
Posted 2011-09-06 3:28 AM (#869)
Subject: New to playing a guitar!

Hi there,

I am new to playing a guitar. Several people in my family play, but I never took interest. A few months ago, I came across an old Ventura: Bruno classical guitar which had belonged to my mother. I decided I would pass it along to my son Parker who has Aspergers Syndrome (an autism spectrum disorder). Parker doesn't take interest in many things. In fact, recently his anxiety about leaving our home has gotten really bad. Since he doesn't take interest in most things, I was very surprised to see him trying to make up songs and walk around the house strumming very dissonant chords and singing a song he said he had "just wrote." I asked Parker if he would be interested in learning how to play the guitar properly, to which he enthusiastically responded, "YES". This is when I began my search for a guitar myself. My son's desire to learn kindled a flame in me which made me want to learn. Being 33 (tomorrow actually) I was kind of nervous about searching for the right guitar and would my short stubby fat fingers cause me to get frustrated and give up. Well I set those worries aside and began my search. After holding a few guitars and researching a bit, I found that I really like the designs that Ovation had. I discussed with my wife and came up with a budget we could work with. The guitar that fell in that area was the Ovation 1861. I really liked this guitar, how