The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: “Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.” -Plato

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
strings acoustic or electric?

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2002-2003Message format

Nils
Posted 2003-09-11 4:05 PM (#204327)
Subject: strings acoustic or electric?

There was a little tag on my Elite 12 that said it was strung with D'Addario strings, but it didn't say what kind. Are they acoustic or electric? They appear to be phosphor bronze so I'm guessing acoustic? I measured the little E strings & they're 12's.
Since I started playing with the "group" over in Bend, my string requirements have changed somewhat. Before I started playing over there, I was primarily interested in easy to play, sound/volume was not needed (or desirable usually, small house). If I wanted more sound I could just plug in. Now I need acoustic volume. I'm getting plenty of sound out of it now with the original strings. (Which have held up really well, although they're about ready to be replaced now.)
I have on hand a set of light (.010's) D'Addario phosphor bronze acoustics & a set of Martin 80/20 bronze lights (.012's), also acoustic.
I'm not sure which I'm going to put on. I'm leaning towards trying to D'Addarios first, it seems to me that I tried some Martin strings some time ago & didn't care much for 'em. I know I put D'Addario '010's on my "high strung" Celebrity, it didn't seem to lose too much difference in the sound & it made it easier to play. The Elite is easy to play with the 12's, it might be *really* nice with 10's. I'm not sure where I got these Martins but I've had 'em a while.
Any thoughts about this stuff out there?

Nils