The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Jazz... isn't that just a series of mistakes disguised as musical composition?” - David St. Hubbins of Spinal Tap

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Cleaning your Ovation

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2002-2003Message format

SteveL778
Posted 2003-11-09 8:31 AM (#201545)
Subject: Cleaning your Ovation

What is the proper technique for cleaning your O's fret board and body? I really like keeping my guitars clean but I have no experience with acoustic guitars. Can you guys recommend a particular polish or cleaner?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Nils
Posted 2003-11-09 10:32 AM (#201546 - in reply to #201545)
Subject: Re: Cleaning your Ovation

Someone on here told me about Dunlop 65. That's all I use now. Great stuff.

/\/\/
an4340
Posted 2003-11-09 2:46 PM (#201547 - in reply to #201545)

On the fret board, I'd use sparing amounts of lemon oil, and rub it in good. Dunlop for the rest of the guitar.
Eman
Posted 2003-11-09 2:55 PM (#201548 - in reply to #201545)

What I have discovered through this board and on my own is that the fretboard needs lemon oil. I bought Dr. Stringfello'w fretboard oil from Musician's Friend. Probably the same lemon oil you can get at the supermarket.

For the neck and headstock, I went with Ovations recommendation and used Trewax, which I got at the hardware store. I have a satin finish top on my Balladeer Special and they recommend Trewax for that also. I haven't tried it yet as I'm concerned that it may discolor/darken the top (as it did slightly on the neck and headstock).

For shiney tops, everyone seems to like Dunlop 65. I have some and use it occasionally on my Custom Legend anb other gloss top guitars. It's pretty good.