The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Believe me when I say that some of the most amazing music in history was made on equipment that's not as good as what you own right now." - Jol Dantzig

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Adamas top reglue

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> Welcome CenterMessage format

jd-repair
Posted 2022-05-13 8:00 PM (#557332)
Subject: Adamas top reglue

Howdy everyone - I'm JD, and I repair guitars for a living... I've worked on Ovations in the past but I have no experience working on the Adamas models with cf tops. And one just arrived in my shop. I'm hoping someone with experience could help me work out if I can offer the owner a quality repair. He's shown the guitar to a few local repair guys and been turned down them all. I'd like to help him if I can. The "mothership" is around 8000 miles away as the crow flies, so he isn't inclined to bear the shipping cost of returning it for them to repair.

This Adamas 1597 arrived in the shop with essentially total separation of top from bowl. The cf top itself is separated from the lining. When it arrived the top was loose from one side of the fb extension all the way around to the other side of the fb extension and it appeared the glued fb extension was the only thing keeping the top on at all. Undoing the neck bolts proved this to be the case, as neck and fb came away cleanly as one piece. I heated the fb extension and loosened it from the top without issue and set the neck aside.