The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we'd all love one another." -Frank Zappa

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Neck Profile/Finish

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> About my guitar...Message format

CMP
Posted 2020-08-05 1:10 AM (#552664)
Subject: Neck Profile/Finish

Hey all!

Happy to be a newbie here. Great forum packed with great info. One thing was hoping you guys could school me on, as I look for a few Ovations, is the neck finish of a particular timeframe/year. I really prefer a gloss neck or at the very least... a smooth finish.

Quick backstory is I have a 1999 Collector Edition, and while I love it.... the neck is a satin mahogany. I find this a little... distracting? At least on this guitar anyway. I feel every little groove, ridge etc in the porous grain that is mahogany. I've seen in many other models of years past, they were gloss finished. Does anyone know what years to look for/avoid if I wanted a gloss neck.... or a smooth finished one anyway. I really gravitate towards the elite style as opposed to the center sound hole style. Have my eye on an Elite has a maple neck so that would be super tight and sleek I'm thinkin! Cool!!!

I've been reluctant to take steel wool or sandpaper to the back of my neck to smooth it out as I wouldn't want to remove anything thats there to protect it.... but I'm close!!

Thanks in advance for any wisdom you guys may be able to bestow

(IMG_3828.jpg)

Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_3828.jpg (34KB - 0 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Mark in Boise
Posted 2020-08-05 9:26 AM (#552666 - in reply to #552664)
Subject: Re: Neck Profile/Finish