The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain." - Bob Marley

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Ovation legend Repair

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Members Forums -> General PostingMessage format

rusty999
Posted 2015-02-09 1:28 PM (#505484)
Subject: Ovation legend Repair

Hi Guys, I'm a newbie here , so hopefully not breaking any rules as I may have posted this in the wrong category this morning
Can anyone tell me whats the best glue to use when reconstructing an Ovation. Basically , I have had to disassemble an ovation to fix various cracks and broken braces so now I have to assemble it all again by using whatever glue is appropriate to put the top back on the bowl.
What glue do Ovation use to build the instrument? Will 2 part epoxy be strong enough .
Any advise much appreciated
Cheers
Rusty
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Nancy
Posted 2015-02-09 2:51 PM (#505490 - in reply to #505484)
Subject: RE: Ovation legend Repair

Hi Rusty! And Welcome!

I don't know the answer to your question, but I hope that you are taking pictures along the way, to share with everybody!
Mark in Boise
Posted 2015-02-09 3:06 PM (#505492 - in reply to #505484)
Subject: Re: Ovation legend Repair

SOBeach gave you a good link in the first place you posted this. Look for threads by Dan Savage in particular. He is a model airplaner and seems to have a wealth of knowledge regarding glue. Also, his work on retopping an Ovation recently is just plain interesting, even for someone who isn't taking on a similar project.
seesquare
Posted 2015-02-09 3:09 PM (#505493 - in reply to #505484)