The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain." - Bob Marley

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
UPS Store B.S.

View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums Archive -> The Vault: 2004-2005Message format

Strummin12
Posted 2005-07-15 1:33 PM (#144016)
Subject: UPS Store B.S.

Hey...

Been meaning to post about this for a while.

I've had some interesting experiences with the UPS Store recently, just wanted to quickly mention it since many here may do shipping of our precious guitars through them.

The dumb-ass that I can be made the ass-umption that the UPS store was directly affiliated with UPS. The idiot sees the logo on the store, makes the assumption. Apparently, not so. It was around the block from me, and much closer than the UPS facility, so I went for the convenience.

My most recent trip was to ship an Adamas about 2 months ago. Went in with a well packed box, ready to go. The transaction is processed, just about to pay when the owner takes out a rubber stamp and stamps the receipt with something for me to initial. Essentially it said that they are not responsible for any damages to the item in the package. He did that one other time to me as well, but I didn't care the first time because the item wasn't fragile. So this time I said "so if I sign this, you could kick the box in as hard as you want, and I can't do a damn thing about it." He said "if you packed it well, it shouldn't matter". I said, "no way, UPS doesn't make me sign this, why are you? If I'm paying for insurance, of course you are responsible for damage once it leaves my hands" He said, "we are not UPS". So I left with the package. I went to a UPS facility later that day, and the shipping fee was $20 LESS than the UPS store.