The Ovation Fan Club
The Ovation Fan Club
Forum Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Language
Your are viewing as a Guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "Jazz... isn't that just a series of mistakes disguised as musical composition?” - David St. Hubbins of Spinal Tap

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
Ovation Rosette

View previous thread :: View next thread
   The Ovation Fan Club -> For SaleMessage format

skip77
Posted 2007-06-30 1:19 PM (#314385)
Subject: Ovation Rosette

I know this is a touchy topic for all you Ovation devotees. Most of you probably love your Ovations just as they are. Since I'm new to bowlbacks or hope to be soon, I have no axe to grind so to speak, in terms of loyalty. Because of this free spirit attitude I have one criticism to lay on Ovation designs: the stick-on rosette.

If it was only a copout, which I suspect the case, it sucks. Every well crafted acoustic guitar is punctuated with a nicely inlaid rosette. If Ovation guitars are so darn awesome, why did they cut that one corner! Over the past week or so I've looked at at least a hundred Ovation guitars. I think maybe 2 or them had inlaid rosettes. What's the deal with this self-adhesive, decal, stick on rosette! Talk about a pity.

A man runs all the way across the Sierra desert, digging for beetles and sucking moisture from every tiny shrub and weed he can find, hiding during day hours and moving under cover of night through hundreds of miles of scorching sand, avoiding scorpions and snakes successfully.. only to fall dead 50 yds short of a deep, cool, clear water pool and palm trees - that is what Ovation has done all these years with their cheap rosette.