Just got hooked on Ovation. I GET IT NOW!!
sonicpictures
Posted 2013-03-05 3:42 PM (#468043)
Subject: Just got hooked on Ovation. I GET IT NOW!!

Hello everyone,

I'd just like to say hello and pose a couple of questions for the knowledgeable group of O players on this board. After playing so many different types of guitars over my playing career (mostly as a bassist, I own 4 different Fender Jazz Basses), I had to purchase a new acoustic electric guitar for a duo I'm starting to play with in paying gigs over the summer. I've owned a bunch of dreadnaught style acoustics over the years, mainly just for composing and for fun, so I've never owned a serious performance acoustic/electric.

I've played in groups before where the guitarists were playing USA made Ovations from the 70s and 80s and really dug their sound, but like a lot of people the bowl design turned me off at first. This weekend in a pawn shop I was able to score a Celebrity CC24 with SKB hard case for $225 out the door. I replaced the strings, cleaned the fretboard, removed two shims from under the saddle and made a minor truss rod adjustment and now it sings. I'm officially hooked on Ovation. Even for being a Korean made instrument, it plays better than a lot of Taylors and Martins I've played in my lifetime.