New member buying his first Ovation in Europe
Inty
Posted 2013-01-29 9:54 AM (#464699)
Subject: New member buying his first Ovation in Europe

Hello all! I am a student from Slovenia, who enjoys playing guitar more than just about anything else, but am pretty new to it, amd I am completely self taught, so I have a lot of gaps in knowledge that other players may think of as basic stuff, so I apologize for any silly questions in advance.

So here is my question. I have started playing guitar a couple of years back on a 40 year old guitar, that was a complete wreck, but I got it for free, and I started playing on it, so I have no complaints. After a couple of years I bought a Fender Mexican Strat, and have been loving it since. But one day while I was buying strings for my strat at the local guitar shop I noticed an Ovation hanging from the wall, and needless to say, I was stunned. I picked it up and fell in love with it immediately! It was a new Ovation 1777LX, with a price of 1650 euros (a bit more than 2000 dollars) and I decided to work more hours and try to save some more money, to be able to afford it one day. That was more than a year ago, but next month I'm planing on buying it.

At least I was until I read everything that you have written on this board about this guitar. I still love it, since I need a guitar that will last me a lifetime, sounds great plugged in or unplugged (am planing on giging with it aswell), and I play a mixture of styles (fingerpicking and strumming), but primarily rock music. But the only problem that I found was, that the asking price is ridiculously high compared to the prices that you are citing on this site. I realise that buying things in Europe automatically make things two times more expensive, but this guitar could be picked up in the states for four times less money, if I am not mistaken.