Another MM68 Report
mikey2
Posted 2003-12-26 12:11 AM (#198322)
Subject: Another MM68 Report

As I am a somewhat beginner at the mandolin, a couple buddies came by today to see and hear (play) the new MM68 with the Pignose 40 amp. One brought an amplified Larrivee L10E w/SWR Strawberry Blonde amp and the other played my A and F style mandos. They're both much better players than me but neither had heard a MM68 before, acoustic or amped. They first were remarking about the lyracord round back looking kinda "machine" made. I pointed out that the guy's Larrivee was made largely from modern CNC equipment also. Then the playing began. I was too embarassed to play for them but they both were eager to play the Ovation. They were both surprised to hear what sounded like real mandolin sounds although a little bassier. I had the EQ at center for no effect. Then they had a ball playing with pre amp OP24+ Their mistakes were more evident but the little MM68 had more volume with the amp than either of them needed and with no distortion! They also couldn't believe they could walk right up to the amp with the plugged in Ovation and not get feedback! Needless to say I think the guy that brought the Larivee guitar is going to buy one of these Ovation MM68 mandos. He wanted to take it home to show his wife but I just didn't trust the look in his eye that also said he had a "gig" the next day!

If you Ovation lovers have not tried one of these with an all tube amp (if you play mandos); try one, I think you'll like it.

Al: I heard you say somewhere you had several of these but the one you sold me was your last, is that true? Any reason? Are you getting more?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Bailey
Posted 2003-12-26 1:23 AM (#198323 - in reply to #198322)
Subject: Re: Another MM68 Report

mikey2