Latest trip to Bend
Nils
Posted 2004-01-23 2:42 PM (#196704)
Subject: Latest trip to Bend

My son Shane (he's 35) & my buddy John went with me to Bend last night to play at the mall. There weren't too many people playing last night which made it nice, since it was Shane's first time there. Probably only 20 or so people.
I think I mentioned Dean before here on the BBS? He's the guy with the ancient Gibson flat top that I usually follow when they take off playing something I've never heard before (which happens a lot). He knows about every old song they can come up with.
Anyway, he said something last night that just cracked me up. Before we "officially" started, Dean, who's probably 65ish & has obviously been playing most of his life, started playing "Bury me Beneath the Willow", kind of Chet Atkins style, so I started playing it with him, (not as well), together it sounded pretty cool, if I do say so myself :) There was another regular there watching us. He's probably in his early 40's. Nice guy. He can play the basic chords pretty well and he's working hard to improve so he never misses an opportunity to learn something. When we finished playing he asked Dean "How long did it take you to learn that?" Ol' Dean said without missing a beat "About 50 years." I almost choked. You should have seen the look on that guys face, it was priceless. We all got a good laugh :)
I got lots of compliments on the 2002 Collectors. Dennis & Ellen both played it a little bit & were way impressed. They share a Celebrity that I guess would be the Korean version of an 1868. They're the only other people there playing an Ovation. They also both play mando, fiddle & a little bit of banjo so they're always trading off. There are quite a few Gibsons & a few Taylors & Martins. Lots of Tak's.
We all had a great time.

/\/\/
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Slipkid
Posted 2004-01-23 2:56 PM (#196705 - in reply to #196704)
Subject: Re: Latest trip to Bend

Sounds like allot of fun!