Is this true about Ovations??
Littleton
Posted 2004-05-02 7:13 PM (#188663)
Subject: Is this true about Ovations??

I want to learn to play an acoustic so I have ordered the AA21 Applause. After asking for opinions on this guitar I was told the following...

EVERY Applaus I've seen that's more than a couple of years old has
the top bellied - meaning that it's convex rather than flat, and the
strings are higher off the fret board than is conducive to extensive bouts
of practicing.

My Questions are: Are Ovations known for more bellying than any other guitar? As a beginner I am hoping the AA21 will work for me, at least for a few years. Also, what is a normal warranty on Ovations?? Thanks for any help.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
stringinstrument
Posted 2004-05-02 7:41 PM (#188664 - in reply to #188663)
Subject: Re: Is this true about Ovations??

Hello Littleton,

Welcome to the club! I don't know how serious you are about playing the guitar, but at my house guitars (with the exception of a few) are all available for the revolving door. So if you play it for a while, and decide that you want another guitar (like one of the upper end Ovations) then trade it in.

I purchased my kids an Applause a few years ago, it has been a bit abused, played by three kids, and the top is still nice and flat on it. A great beginning guitar. When I first started playing guitar I never would have thought to buy an Adamas (if they made them back then), or any other high end guitar. So play for a while, have fun, and then decide how serious you want to become, or how much money you want to invest in a guitar! Again, Welcome!!

Play on, Pray for Peace!!

Glenn :D
Littleton
Posted 2004-05-02 8:06 PM (#188665 - in reply to #188663)

Glenn... Thanks for your input... Makes me feel better that this will work for a beginner like myself.
Old Applause Owner
Posted 2004-05-02 8:11 PM (#188666 - in reply to #188663)